EU related referendums

Since 1990, altogether 34 EU-related referendums have been organized across Europe. Ireland has organized a total of six referendums, while Denmark and Switzerland have organized four referendums each. Most countries (Austria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) have only held one or two referendums in the period in question.

EU-related referendums, 1992-2012. Click icon to view data

Czech Republic

Referendums on the accession to the European Union (1994/2003)

In 1994, referendums regarding the accession to the European Community (EC) were carried out in Austria, Finland, Norway and Sweden. Accession was rejected in Norway only. In 2003, referendums were organized in the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia in 2003. In all these countries, EU-accession was accepted. The countries entered the Union in 2004 together with Cyprus, which did not organize a referendum.

Referendums on the Maastrict Treaty (1992/1993)

Denmark, France and Ireland held referendums on the Maastrict Treaty. Owing to the rejection of the Treaty in Denmark, it was re-negotiated and a new referendum was held in 1993.

Referendums on the Amsterdam Treaty (1998)

Denmark and Ireland. In both cases the Treaty was accepted.

Referendum on the Nice Treaty (2001/2002)

The Nice Treaty was first rejected (2001) but later accepted (2002) in referendums in Ireland.

Referendums on the adoption of the Euro (2000/2003)

Denmark and Sweden held referendums on the accession to the European Monetary Union (EMU) in 2000 and 2003, respectively. In both countries, the Euro was rejected.

Referendums on the EU Constitution (2005)

France, the Netherlands, Luxembourg and Spain held referendums on the Constitution of Europe. The Constitution was rejected in France and the Netherlands. In six countries (Czech Republic, Denmark, Ireland, Poland, Portugal and United Kingdom) referendums have been either cancelled or postponed indefinitely. As for the remaining EU member states, the Constitution has been subject to parliamentary approval in which it has been accepted in all but two countries (the Czech Republic (which cancelled the referendum) and Sweden where the case has been postponed).

Referendums on the Lisbon Treaty (2008)

Ireland, as required by its constitution, was the only member state to hold referendums on the Lisbon Treaty. In 2008 the referendum took place and it was rejected by a majority if the electorate. The Presidency of the Council of the European Union scheduled the Treaty to be fully ratified by the end of 2008, thus entering into force on 1 January 2009. This plan failed however, primarily due to the rejection of the Treaty in Ireland. The decision was reversed in a second referendum in 2009.

Referendums in Switzerland: Switzerland has organized four EU related referendums

In 1992 (on Switzerlands accession to the European Economic Area, rejected), 2000 (bilaterat agreement), and two referendums in 2005 (on the accession into the Schengen area and the Dublin Convention).