Head of State:HM King Carl XVI Gustaf

Head of Government:Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt

Parliament (Sveriges Riksdag):349 members

Last election:Legislative, 19 September 2010

Next election:Legislative, due September 2014

Parliamentary elections

Main political parties, descriptions and election results 2010
Party Description Votes % Seats
SAP - Social Democratic Party Social Democratic 30,66 112
M - Moderate Party Conservative 30,06 107
MP - Green Party Ecologist 7,34 25
FP - Liberal People's Party Liberal 7,06 24
C - Centre Party Agrarian 6,56 23
SD - Sweden Democrats - 5,70 20
KD - Christian Democrats Christian Democratic 5,60 19
VP - Left Party Communist 5,60 19

EP elections

Sweden elects 18 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. In the EP elections of 2009 the opposition Social Democratic Party (SAP) won five seats after getting 24.41 percent of the votes. The governing party the Moderates (M), won four seats and 18.83 percent of the votes..[read more..]

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 2

EU related referendums

Two EU-related referendums have been held in Sweden; one in 1994 on the accession to the European Union and one in 2003 on joining the European Monetary Union. After the EU accession in 1995 the Swedish position on the European Monetary Union (EMU) was not entirely clear..[read more]

Referendum on the Accession to the European Union, 1994.YES votes, NUTS 3.