European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Spain elects 50 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Spain comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The d'Hondt electoral formula is utilized and there is no legal threshold. Party lists are closed and blocked, meaning that voters do not have any influence on the actual persons representing their country.

Latest elections

In the 2009 elections to the European Parliament, Prime Minister Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero's party PSOE came second to the opposition party PP, who won 42.12 percent of the votes and 23 seats. PSOE received 38.51 percent and won 21 seats. Economic recession and high unemployment rates were by observers identified as the key factors explaining the socialist decline. Other parties winning representation in the European Parliament were the CpE (2), IU-ICV-EUIA (2), UPyD (1) and EdP-V (1).

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 2


European Parliament, results by country

BBC News, election results across Europe

Ministerio Del Interior (Ministry of the Interior):