European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Slovakia elects 13 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Slovakia comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The Droop (largest reminder) electoral formula is utilized and the legal threshold is set to 5 percent. Party lists are closed and non-blocked, meaning that voters are enabled to express preferences for a certain candidate on their favoured party list.

Latest elections

In the European Parliament elections of 2009, SMER turned out as the winner, with 32,02 percent of the votes and 5 seats. SDKU-DS, SMK-MKP and KDH won 2 seats each, while LS-HZDS and SNS won 1 seat each.

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 3


Birch, Sarah, Frances Millard, Marina Popescu and Kieran Williams, 2002. Embodying democracy: electoral system design in post-communist Europe.New York: Palgrave Machmillan.

Stöver, Philip, and Andreas Wüst. 2005. Electoral Systems.

European Parliament: results by country.