Head of State:President Traian Băsescu

Head of Government:Prime Minister Victor Ponta

Chamber of Deputies (Camera Deputaţilor):334 members

Last election:Parliamentary, 9 December 2012

Next election:Presidential, due 2014

Parliamentary elections

Election results 2012, selected parties. NUTS 2.

Presidential Elections

The president is elected by popular vote to serve a five-year term. If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the cast ballots, a run-off between the first two candidates is organized two weeks after the election date. The first round of the 2009 Romanian presidential elections was held on 22 November..[read more]

Election results 2009 - round 2. NUTS 2

EP elections

Romania currently (2009) elects 33 MP's to the European Parliament. In the EP elections of 2009 the two parties in the ruling coalition, the Social Democrat Party (PSD) and Prime Minister Emil Boc's centre-right Democratic Liberal Party (PDL), broke a regional pattern of opposition victories by emerging first and second..[read more]

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 2