European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Portugal elects 22 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Portugal comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The d'Hondt electoral formula is utilized and there is no legal threshold. Party lists are closed and blocked, meaning that voters do not have any influence on the actual persons representing their country.

Latest elections

Election results 2009. National summary

In the European Parliament elections of 2009, the Social Democratic Party (PPD/PSD) came out as the winner, with 31.71 percent of the votes and 8 seats in the Parliament. Prime Minister Jose Socrates' governing Socialist Party (PS) came second, dropping around 18 percentage points from the previous election, winning 26.53 percent of the votes and 7 seats. The remaining seats went to BE (3 seats) and CDU(PCP-PEV) and CDS-PP, winning 2 seats each.


Stöver, Philip, and Andreas Wüst. 2005. Electoral Systems.

European Parliament, election results by country: http://www.europarl.europa.eu/