Administrative Division

Portugal is situated on the Iberian peninsula and borders to Spain in the east and north and the North Atlantic Ocean in the west. Portugal also controls the Azores and Madeira Islands located in the Atlantic Ocean.

Mainland Portugal is divided into 18 districts (distritos), 308 municipalities (concelhos) and about 4000 civil parishes (freguesias ). Since 1978, Portugal conceded political autonomy to the two islands of Madeira and Azores due to the great distance from Lisbon. For electoral purposes, the country is divided into 20 districts made up by the 18 territorial districts and the two autonomous regions.


District Name Mandates
Aveiro 16
Beja 3
Braga 19
Bragança 3
Castelo Branco 4
Coimbra 10
Évora 3
Faro 8
Guarda 4
Leiria 10
Lisbon 47
Portalegre 2
Porto 39
Santarém 10
Setúbal 17
Viana do Castelo 6
Vila Real 5
Viseu 9
Açores 5
Madeira 6
Abroad - Europe 2
Abroad - Rest of the world 2

NUTS structure

Portugal has 30 NUTS 3 units, 7 NUTS 2 units and 3 NUTS 1 units. While the district administrative level in Portugal is not reflected in NUTS structure of the country, the NUTS 4 level equals the municipalities (concelhos) thus making it possible to aggregate election statistics.

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
PT Portugal      
PT1   Continente    
PT11      Norte  
PT111       Minho-Lima
PT112       Cávado
PT113       Ave
PT114       Grande Porto
PT115       Tâmega
PT116       Entre Douro e Vouga
PT117       Douro
PT118       Alto Trás-os-Montes
PT15     Algarve  
PT150       Algarve
PT16     Centro (P)  
PT161       Baixo Vouga
PT162       Baixo Mondego
PT163       Pinhal Litoral
PT164       Pinhal Interior Norte
PT165       Dâo-Lafôes


      Pinhal Interior Sul
PT167       Serra da Estrela
PT168       Beira Interior Norte
PT169       Beira Interior Sul
PT16A       Cova da Beira
PT16B       Oeste
PT16C       Médio Tejo
PT17     Lisboa  
PT171       Grande Lisboa
PT172       Península de Setúbal
PT18     Alentejo  
PT181       Alentejo Litoral
PT182       Alto Alentejo
PT183       Alentejo Central
PT184       Baixo Alentejo
PT185       Leziria do Tejo
PT2   Região Autónoma dos Açores    
PT20     Região Autónoma dos Açores  
PT200       Região Autónoma dos Açores
PT3   Região Autónoma da Madeira    
PT30     Região Autónoma da Madeira  
PT300       Região Autónoma da Madeira

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe