Presidential Elections

Electoral system

The President of the Republic is directly elected (a second ballot being held if necessary) for a five-year term, and may be re-elected only once.

Latest elections

Election results 2005. National summary

In the first round of the Presidential election of October 2005, Donald Tusk emerged as the winner with 36.3 percent of the vote. Lech Kaczyński came second with 33.1 percent of the vote, followed by Andrzej Lepper of Self-Defence (15.1 percent) and Marek Borowski of the SdPl (10.3 percent). None of the other candidates received more than 2 percent of the popular vote. However, in the second round Kaczyński emerged as the winner with 54.04 percent of the votes against Tusk's 45.96 percent.


National Electoral Commission: http://www.pkw.gov.pl/

Jasiewicz, K. & Jasiewicz-Betkiewicz, A. 2006. Poland. European Journal of Political Research, Vol. 45(7-8), 1231-1246.

Stöver, Philip, and Andreas Wüst. 2005. Electoral Systems.