European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Poland elects 50 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Poland comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The d'Hondt electoral formula is utilized and the legal threshold is set to 5 percent. Party lists are closed and blocked, meaning that voters do not have any opportunity to express interests for any particular candidate.

Latest elections

In the European Parliament elections of June 2009, the governing PO emerged as the big winner with 44.43 percent of the votes and 25 seats. The opposition party PiS came second with 27.4 percent of the votes (15 seats), while SLD-UP won 12.34 percent and 7 seats. The 3 remaining seats went to PSL with 7.01 percent of the votes.

Election results 2009. National summary


Stöver, Philip, and Andreas Wüst. Electoral Systems.

Government (Poland), in Europa World online. London, Routledge. University of Bergen. Retrieved 08 September 2006 from http://www.europaworld.com/entry/pl.is.51

European Parliament, results by country