Head of State:President Bronisław Komorowski

Head of Government:Prime Minister Donald Tusk

National Assembly (Sejm):460 members

Last election:Legislative, 9 October 2011

Next election:Presidential, due 2015

Parliamentary Elections

Main political parties, descriptions and election results 2011
Party Description Votes % Seats
PO - The Civic Platform Liberal 39,18 207
PiS - Law and Justice Christian democrat 29,89 157
RP - Palikot's Movement - 10,02 40
PSL - The Polish People's Party Agrarian 8,36 28
SLD - Democratic Left Alliance - 8,24 27
MN - German Minority Ethnic-Regional 0,19 1

Presidential Elections

The President of the Republic is directly elected (a second ballot being held if necessary) for a five-year term, and may be re-elected only once. In the first round of the Presidential election of October 2005, Donald Tusk emerged as the winner with 36.3 percent of the vote. Lech Kaczyński came second with 33.1 percent of the vote..[read more..]

Election results 2005. National summary

EP elections

Poland elects 50 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. In the European Parliament elections of June 2009, the governing PO emerged as the big winner with 44.43 percent of the votes and 25 seats..[read more]

Election results 2009. National summary

EU related referendums

A referendum on the accession to the European Union took place during 7 and 8 June 2003. Poles were to answer the following question: "Do you Sir/Madam approve Polish Republic's accession to the European Union?". Polish official results showed that 58.85 percent of the population participated in the referendum. 77.45 percent of them (13 516 612) answered 'YES'; 22.55 percent (3 936 012) answered 'NO'..[read more]

Referendum on the Accession to the Europen Union 2003. National summary