Administrative Division

Norway is located on the Scandinavian peninsula and borders to Sweden, Finland and Russia to the east and the northeast. To the north lies the Barents Sea, to the west the Norwegian Sea (North Atlantic Ocean) and to the south the Skagerak. The Norwegian kingdom comprises metropolitan Norway and its insular possessions Svalbard and Jan Mayen.

For administrative purposes, Norway is divided into 19 counties (fylker ), which are further subdivided into 431 municipalities. The county level is an intermediate administrative level between the state and the municipalities. The county structure is also utilized for electoral purposes as each county represent a multi-member electoral district. Directly elected local assemblies exist on both county and municipality level.

NUTS structure

Norway has 19 NUTS 3 units, 7 NUTS 2 units and 1 NUTS 1 unit. The NUTS 3 level equals the counties, which are also utilized as electoral districts in national elections.

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
NO Norway      
NO0   Norge    
NO01     Oslo og Akershus  
NO011       Oslo
NO012       Akershus
NO02     Hedemark og Oppland  
NO021       Hedemark
NO022       Oppland
NO03     Sør-Østlandet  
NO31       Østfold
NO032       Buskerud
NO033       Vestfold
NO034       Telemark
NO04     Agder og Rogaland  
NO041       Aust-Agder
NO042       Vest-Agder
NO043       Rogaland
NO05     Vestlandet  
NO051       Hordaland
NO052       Sogn og Fjordane
NO053       Møre og Romsdal
NO06     Trøndelag  
NO061       Sør-Trøndelag
NO062       Nord-Trøndelag
NO07     Nord-Norge  
NO071       Nordland
NO072       Troms
NO073       Finmark

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe