Head of State:HM King Willem-Alexander

Head of Government:Prime Minister Mark Rutte

National Council (Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal):150 members

Last election:Legislative, 12 September 2012

Next election:Legislative, by 2016

Parliamentary elections

EP elections

The Netherlands elects 25 representatives to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. In the latest European Parliament elections, held on 4 June 2009, the two main parties in the Dutch government, the Christian Democrats (CDA) and the Labour Party (PvdA), suffered a marked decline in support..[read more..]

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 2

EU related referendums

In November 2003, the lower house (Tweede Kamer) approved a bill to hold a consultative referendum on the European Constitutional Treaty. The coalition government was divided about the bill..[read more..]