Administrative Division

Malta is situated in the central Mediterranean Sea. The country is an archipelago of which three islands - Malta, Gozo and Comino - are inhabited. The Malta Channel separates Malta from the Italian island of Sicily.

For administrative purposes, the country is divided into 65 localities. The localities are governed by the local councils, which comprise representatives elected for a three-year period. The Councils are responsible for issues relating to road maintenance, planning and welfare services. There are also three administrative entities that group the localities: Malta Majjistral (29 local councils), Malta Xlokk (25 local councils) and Gozo (14 local councils). The country is currently divided into 13 electoral districts.

NUTS structure

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
MT Malta      
MT0   Malta    
MT00     Malta  
MT001       Malta
MT002       Gozo and Comino/Ghawdex u Kemmuna

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe