Parliamentary Elections

Electoral system

Latest elections

Election results 2009

General elections were held in Luxembourg on 7 June 2009, together with the election to the European Parliament. Seven political parties participated in the elections: the Christian Social People's Party (CSV), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (LSAP), the Democratic Party (DP), the Greens, the Alternative Democratic Reform Party (ADR), The Left (Lénk) and the Communist Party (KPL). In addition, the Citizens' List (Biergerlescht), which was headed by the independent deputy Aly Jaerling, ran in two of the four constituencies.

CSV won a total of 26 seats, while LSAP came second, winning 13 seats. DP, The Greens and ADR won 9, 7 and 4 seats respectively, while the Left party won 1 seat. The CSV and LSAP formed a coalition agreement, with Jean-Claude Juncker (CSV) as Prime Minister, forming the new government on 23 July.


Inter-Parliamentary Union, PARLINE database on national parliaments

Government (Luxembourg), in Europa World online . London, Routledge. University of Bergen. Retrieved 04 September 2006 from