European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Luxembourg elects 6 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Luxembourg comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The Droop/ d’Hondt electoral formula is utilized and the there is no legal threshold. Luxembourg is the only EU member country where lists are open and voters can choose among all candidates of the different party lists and cast as many votes as seats to be distributed.

Latest elections

The European Parliament election of 2009 in Luxembourg was held on the same day as the elections to the national legislature, 7 June. The election was contested by the same lists that contested the simultaneous election to the general elections. These included the Christian Social People's Party (CSV), Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (LSAP), the Greens (Gréng), the Democratic Party (DP), the Alternative Democratic Reform Party (ADR), the Left (Lénk), the Communist Party (KPL), and the Citizens' List (Biergerlesch), which was led by the independent deputy Aly Jaerling. Of the total 6 seats CSV won three, while LSAP, DP and The Greens won one seat each.

Election results 2009


Stöver, Philip, and Andreas Wüst. Electoral Systems. 

Government (Luxembourg), in Europa World online . London, Routledge. University of Bergen. Retrieved 04 September 2006 from

European Parliament: results by country