Head of State:HRH Grand Duke Henri

Head of Government:Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker

Chamber of Deputies (Chambre des Députés):60 members

Last election:Legislative, 7 June 2009

Next election:Legislative, due June 2014

Parliamentary elections

Main political parties, descriptions and election results 2009
Party Description Votes % Seats
CSV - Christian Social People's Party Christian Democrat 38,04 26
LSAP - The Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party Social Democratic 21,56 13
DP - Democratic Party Liberal 14,98 9
Gréng - The Greens Ecologist 11,71 7
ADR - Alternative Democratic Reform Party Special Issue 8,13 4
Lénk - The Left Communist 3,29 1

EP elections

Luxembourg elects 6 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. The European Parliament election of 2009 in Luxembourg was held on the same day as the elections to the national legislature, 7 June. The election was contested by the same lists that contested the simultaneous election to the general elections..[read more]

European Parliament election results 2009

EU related referendums

On 28 June 2005, the Chamber of Deputies took its first vote approving the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe (55 MPs, of 60 in total, voted in favour). As the Constitution specifies that international treaties are to be ratified by parliament, it was decided by the government and parliament that the Constitutional Treaty would be voted on first by parliament, then the referendum would be held..[read more]

Referendum on the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe, 2005