European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Lithuania elects 12 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Lithuania comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The d'Hondt/ largest remainder electoral formula is utilized and the legal threshold is set to 5 percent. Party lists are closed and non-blocked, hence, voters are provided with the opportunity of overruling the party ranking of candidates.

Latest election

In the European Parliament election of June 2009, 15 political parties participated. The biggest winner was the Conservatives (TS-LKD) which doubled their share of seats compared to 2004, from 2 to 4. The Social Democratic Party (LSDP) won 3 seats, while the Order and Justice Party (TT) came third and won 2 seats. The Labor Party (DP), the Lithuanian Poles' Electoral Action (LLRA) and the Liberals Movement of the Republic of Lithuania (LRLS) won one seat each. The National Resurrection Party (TPP), which was the big winner in the general election in 2008 (winning 15.09 percent of the votes), failed to win a seat in the European Parliament with only 1.04 percent of the votes.

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 3.


Rose, R. and N. Munro (2003). Elections and Parties in New European Democracies. Washington DC: CQ Press.

Stöver, Philip and Andreas M. Wüst. 2005. Electoral systems.

Central Electoral Committee of the Republic of Lithuania:

European Parliament, results by country.