Administrative Division

Lithuania is situated on the eastern shore of the Baltic Sea and borders Latvia on the north, Belarus on the east and south, and Poland and the Kaliningrad region of Russia on the south-west. Lithuania is the largest and most southerly of the three Baltic republics.

The current administrative division was created in 1994 and modified in 2000. Lithuania consists of 10 counties (apskritys') , each named after their principal city. Counties are ruled by a governor who is appointed by the central government in Vilnius. Their primary duty is to ensure that the municipalities obey the laws of Lithuania and the constitution. The counties are subdivided into 60 municipalities, both cities and districts. Municipalities consist of over 300 elderships. Each municipality has its elected government, which is elected every four years in elections of municipality councils.

NUTS structure

Lithuania has 1 NUTS 1 units, 1 NUTS 2 units and 10 NUTS 3 units.

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
LT00     Lietuva  
LT001       Alytaus apskritis
LT002       Kauno apskritis
LT003       Klaipedos apskritis
LT004       Marijampoles apskritis
LT005       Panevezio apskritis
LT006       Siauliu apskritis
LT007       Taurages apskritis
LT008       Telsiu apskritis
LT009       Utenos apskritis
LT00A       Vilniaus apskritis

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe