From January 1st 2022 NSD is a part of Sikt – Norwegian Agency for Shared Services in Education and Research.
For the time being our services will remain available at


European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Latvia elects 8 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Estonia comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The St. Lagüe electoral formula is utilized and there is no legal threshold. Party lists are closed and non-blocked as voters are entitled to vote each candidate on the party list of their choice up (+) and down (-).

Latest election

The latest European Parliament election was held in June 2009. Civic Union (Pilsoniska savieniba - PS) won 24,78 percent of the votes and 2 seats in the European Parliament. 'Harmony Centre' (SC) came second with 19,93 percent, also winning 2 seats. The 4 remaining seats went to PCTVL, LPP/LC, VA-TB/LNKK and JL, winning one seat each.

Election results 2009, main parties. Country-districts.


Stöver, Philip, and Andreas Wüst. 2005. Electoral Systems

European Parliament: Election results by country.

Latvian Central Election Commission: