From January 1st 2022 NSD is a part of Sikt – Norwegian Agency for Shared Services in Education and Research.
For the time being our services will remain available at


Administrative Division

Latvia is situated on the eastern shores of the Baltic Sea and borders to Estonia in the north, Russia in the east and to Lithuania and Belarus in the south.

There are two administrative levels in Latvia. At regional levels, the country is divided into 26 districts, or counties (rajons), and 7 cities with county rights, thus creating 33 regional government areas. The composition of the regional governments (directly elected versus appointed) has varied over the years. At the lowest level, there are about 600 municipalities (7 cities, about 70 towns and about 500 rural areas or pagasts), which are governmed by elected municipality councils.

NUTS structure

Latvia has 6 NUTS 3 units, 1 NUTS 2 unit and 1 NUTS 1 unit.

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
LV Latvia      
LV0   Latvija    
LV00     Latvija  
LV003       Kurzeme
LV005       Latgale
LV006       Riga
LV007       Periga
LV008       Vidzeme
LV009       Zemgale

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe