Head of State:President Andris Bērziņš

Head of Government:Prime Minister Valdis Dombrovskis

National Parliament (Saeima):100 members

Last election:Legislative, 20 September 2011

Next election:Legislative, due October 2015

Parliamentary elections

Election results 2011

Main political parties, descriptions and election results 2011
Party Description Votes % Seats
SC - Harmony Centre Social Democratic 28,36 31
ZRP - Zatlers' Reform Party - 20,82 22
Vienotiba - Unity Conservative 18,83 20
NA - National Alliance - 13,88 14
ZZS - Union of Greens and Farmers Agrarian/Ecologist 12,22 13

EP elections

Estonia elects 8 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. The latest European Parliament election was held in June 2009. Civic Union (Pilsoniska savieniba - PS) won 24,78 percent of the votes and 2 seats in the European Parliament...[read more..]

Election results 2009, main parties. Country-districts.

EU related referendums

A referendum on Latvia joining the European Union (EU) was held on September 20, 2003. Latvia was the last candidate country to hold a referendum and some observers asserted that the timing was chosen on purpose to take advantage of presumably positive examples set by other newcomers..[read more].

Referendum on the Accession to the European Union, 2003. NUTS 3.