European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Italy elects 72 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation.  Italy comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The Hare electoral formula is utilized and there is no legal threshold. Party lists are closed and non-blocked thus enabling voters to express preferences among the candidates belonging to the party list of their choice.

Latest elections

Election results 2009, national summary

In the 2009 EP elections Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi's centre-right People of Freedom (PdL) party took 35.26 percent of the vote (and 29 seats), securing him victory but well below his declared target of 40 percent. The centre-left Democratic Party (PD) came in second with 26.13 percent of the vote, winning 21 seats. The anti-immigration Northern League (NL) - an ally of PdL - saw a boost in support, claiming 10.20 percent of the vote (9 seats) compared with 8.3 percent in the 2008 general elections. IdV-Lista Di Pietro won 7 seats, while 5 seats went to UDC. The final seat went to the christian democratic SPV (South Tyrolean People's Party), mostly active in the Province of Bolzano-Bozen.


Hancock, M.D., D.P. Conradt, B.G. Peters, W. Safran, R. Zarinski (1998). Politics in Western Europe. Basingstoke: Ma0cmillan Press LTD.

Stöver, Philip, and Andreas Wüst. 2005. Electoral Systems.

European Parliament, results by country

BBC News, election results across Europe