Parliamentary Elections

Electoral system

Latest elections

Fine Gael and the Labour Party agreed to form a coalition Government under the premiership of the Fine Gael leader, Enda Kenny, following an early general election on 25 February, which had resulted in an historic defeat for the traditionally dominant Fianna Fáil party. The election had been precipitated by the collapse of the governing coalition comprising Fianna Fáil and the Green Party, amid discontent regarding the Government’s handling of the country’s recent financial crisis, with particular criticism directed at the Taoiseach (Prime Minister), Brian Cowen. Fine Gael won 76 of the 166 seats in the Dáil (the lower house of parliament) and the Labour Party 37 seats, while Fianna Fáil’s representation declined from 78 seats at the previous election to 20 seats and the Green Party failed to retain a single seat. Sinn Féin increased its number of seats from four to 14, including the election to the Dáil of its President, Gerry Adams.

Election results 2011, main parties. Constituency level


Stöver, Philip and Andreas M. Wüst. 2005. Electoral systems.

Inter-Parliamentary Union, PARLINE database on national parliaments

Department of the Environment & Local Government, Election results.