Head of State:President Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson

Head of Government:Prime Minister Sigmundur Davíð Gunnlaugsson

Parliament (Althingi):63 members

Last election:Legislative, 27 April 2013

Next election:Presidential, due 27 April 2016

Parliamentary elections

Presidential Elections

The president of Iceland is elected through a direct popular vote for a four-year term. In the presidential election held in June 2004, turnout in the election was lower than in any previous presidential election: 62.9 percent..[read more..]

Election results 2004. Constituencies