European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Greece elects 22 members to the European Parliament (down from 24 in 2004). The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Greece comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The Droop/largest remainder is utilized. Similar to national parliamentary elections, the legal threshold is set to 3 percent (since 1994). Party lists are closed and blocked, meaning that voters do not have any influence on the actual individuals representing their country.

Latest election

In the 2009 election Prime Minister Costas Karamanlis's governing conservative New Democracy (ND) saw its support fall by more than 10 percentage points to 32.29 percent, leaving it with two fewer seats than in 2004 (winning 8 seats, down from 10). The opposition socialist PASOK party captured 36.64 percent of the vote (8 seats), while the Communist Party (KKE) finished in third place with 8.35 percent (2 seats). Also represented in the new European Parliament, will be the ultra-conservative LAOS party (2 seats), and, with one seat each, the left-wing Syriza and, for the first time, the Greek Greens (OIK.PRAS).

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 3


Stöver, Philip and Andreas M. Wüst. 2005. Electoral systems. 

Chryssogonos, Kostas. An introduction to Greek electoral law. Available at

BBC News: Election results across Europe. Retrieved 27.October, 2009.

Ministry of the Interior, Election results.