Head of State:President Karolos Papoulias

Head of Government:Prime Minister Antonis Samaras

Parliament (Vouli):300 members

Last available election results:Legislative, 6 May 2012

Last election:Legislative, 17 June 2012

Next election:Legislative, due 2016

Parliamentary elections

Election results 1990-2012, selected parties

EP elections

Greece elects 22 members to the European Parliament (down from 24 in 2004). The electoral system is based on proportional representation. In the 2009 election Prime Minister Costas Karamanlis's governing conservative New Democracy (ND) saw its support fall by more than 10 percentage points to 32.29 percent, leaving it with two fewer seats than in 2004..[read more..]

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 2