European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Germany elects 99 representatives to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Germany comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The Hare-Niemeyer electoral formula, known to favour small parties, is utilized and the legal threshold is set to five percent. Party lists are closed and blocked, meaning that voters do not have any influence on the actual candidates representing their country.

Latest election

In the elections to the European Parliament on 7 June 2009, Chancellor Angela Merkel's Christian Democratic Union (CDU), together with it's sister party, CSU, won 37.85 percent of the vote, down from 44.51 percent in the 2004 EP election. But the CDU's ruling coalition partner, SPD, took just 20.78 percent, their worst ever result. A disappointing result for Frank-Walter Steinmeier, the SPD's candidate for chancellor in the national election in September. The bigger winners of the election were the smaller parties, with the liberal Free Democrats (FDP) taking 10,97 percent, up from 6.07 percent in 2004, and the Greens taking 12.13 percent of the vote.

Share of seats in the European Parliament: CDU 34 (-6), SPD 23 (0), Grüne 14 (+1), FDP 12 (+5), Linke 8 (+1), CSU 8 (-1).

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 2


BBC News: Election results across Europe. Retrieved 14.November, 2009.

The Federal Returning Officer, Election results.

The Electoral Reform Society, European Democracies website.

The European Parliament: Results by country.