Head of State:Federal President Joachim Gauck

Head of Government:Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel

Federal Assembly (Bundestag):622 members

Last election:Legislative, 27 September 2009

Next election:Legislative, due by October 2013

Parliamentary elections

Main political parties, descriptions and election results 2009
Party Description Votes % Seats
CDU/CSU - The Christian Democratic Union Christian Democrat 33,8 239
SPD - The Social Democratic Party of Germany Social Democrat 23,0 146
FDP - Free Democrats Liberal 14,6 93
Linke/PDS - The Left Communist 11,9 76
B90/GRÜ - Alliance '90/The Greens Ecologist 10,7 68

EP elections

Germany elects 99 representatives to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. In the elections to the European Parliament on 7 June 2009, Chancellor Angela Merkel's Christian Democratic Union (CDU), together with it's sister party, CSU, won 37.85 percent of the vote, down from 44.51 percent in the 2004 EP election...[read more..]

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 1