From January 1st 2022 NSD is a part of Sikt – Norwegian Agency for Shared Services in Education and Research.
For the time being our services will remain available at


Administrative Division

Mainland France (formally including Corsica) is situated in Western Europe and borders to Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland, Italy and Monaco in the east and to Spain and Andorra in the south. In the north lies the English Channel, in the west the Bay of Biscay and in the south-east the Mediterranean Sea. France also constitutes a number of oversea territories schattered across the planet.

For administrative purposes, France is divided into 26 regions (régions). 22 regions are situated on mainland France whereas the remaining four comprise the oversea regions of Guadeloupe (Caribbean), French Guiana (South America), Martinique (Caribbean) and Réunion (Indian Ocean). The regions are further divided into 100 departments of which 96 belongs to mainland France and four make up oversea departments (each of the oversea regions are also departments). The regions are governed by regional councils (Conseil Régional) whereas departments  are administered by the Conseil Général. Both assemblies are directly elected for a six year term. The state is represented at department level by the préfet that operates under the Ministry of the Interior.

France is further subdivided into about about 340 arrondissements and just below 3900 cantons . The cantons serve an electoral function at department levels as each and every canton elects one representative to the Conseil Général. At the lowest administrative level, France comprises nearly 37 000 communes. The communes are governed by the mayor (maire, indirectly elected) and the municipal council (conseil municipal, directly elected for a six year term).

In addition to the four oversea regions/departments of Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique and Réunion, four additional oversea territories have the status of oversea communities (collectivité d'outre-mer). These are French Polynesia (Pacific Ocean), Mayotte (Indian Ocean), Saint-Pierre and Miquelon (Atlantic Ocean) and Wallis and Futuna (Pacific Ocean).

NUTS structure

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
FR France      
FR1   Île de France    
FR10     Île de France  
FR101       Paris
FR102       Seine-et-Marne
FR103       Yvelines
FR104       Essonne
FR105       Hauts-de-Seine
FR106       Seine-Saint-Denis
FR107       Val-de-Marne
FR108       Val-d'Oise
FR2   Bassin Parisien    
FR21     Champagne-Ardenne  
FR211       Ardennes
FR212       Aube
FR213       Marne
FR214       Haute-Marne
FR22     Picardie  
FR221       Aisne
FR222       Oise
FR223       Somme
FR23     Haute-Normandie  
FR231       Eure
FR232       Seine-Maritime
FR24     Centre  
FR241       Cher
FR242       Eure-et-Loir
FR243       Indre
FR244       Indre-et-Loire
FR245       Loir-et-Cher
FR246       Loiret
FR25     Basse-Normandie  
FR251       Calvados
FR252       Manche
FR253       Orne
FR26     Bourgogne    
FR261       Côte-d'Or
FR262       Nièvre
FR263       Saône-et-Loire
FR264       Yonne
FR3   Nord - Pas-de-Calais    
FR30     Nord - Pas-de-Calais  
FR301       Nord
FR302       Pas-de-Calais
FR4   Est    
FR41     Lorraine  
FR411       Meurthe-et-Moselle
FR412       Meuse
FR413       Moselle
FR414       Vosges
FR42     Alsace  
FR421       Bas-Rhin
FR422       Haut-Rhin
FR43     Franche-Comté  
FR431       Doubs
FR432       Jura
FR433       Haute-Saône
FR434       Territoire de Belfort
FR5   Ouest    
FR51     Pays de la Loire  
FR511       Loire-Atlantique
FR512       Maine-et-Loire
FR513       Mayenne
FR514       Sarthe
FR515       Vendée
FR52     Bretagne  
FR521       Côtes-d'Armor
FR522       Finistère
FR523       Ille-et-Vilaine
FR524       Morbihan
FR53     Poitou-Charentes  
FR531       Charente
FR532       Charente-Maritime
FR533       Deux-Sèvres
FR534       Vienne
FR6   Sud-Ouest    
FR61     Aquitaine  
FR611       Dordogne
FR612       Gironde
FR613       Landes
FR614       Lot-et-Garonne
FR615       Pyrénées-Atlantiques
FR62     Midi-Pyrénées  
FR621       Ariège
FR622       Aveyron
FR623       Haute-Garonne
FR624       Gers
FR625       Lot
FR626       Hautes-Pyrénées
FR627       Tarn
FR628       Tarn-et-Garonne
FR63     Limousin  
FR631       Corrèze
FR632       Creuse
FR633       Haute-Vienne
FR7   Centre-Est    
FR71     Rhône-Alpes  
FR711       Ain
FR712       Ardèche
FR713       Drôme
FR714       Isère
FR715       Loire
FR716       Rhône
FR717       Savoie
FR718       Haute-Savoie
FR72     Auvergne  
FR721       Allier
FR722       Cantal
FR723       Haute-Loire
FR724       Puy-de-Dôme
FR8   Méditerranée    
FR81     Languedoc-Roussillon  
FR811       Aude
FR812       Gard
FR813       Hérault
FR814       Lozère
FR815       Pyrénées-Orientales
FR82     Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur  
FR821       Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
FR822       Hautes-Alpes
FR823       Alpes-Maritimes
FR824       Bouches-du-Rhône
FR825       Var
FR826       Vaucluse
FR83     Corse  
FR831       Corse-du-Sud
FR832       Haute-Corse
FR9   Départements d'Outre-Mer    
FR91     Guadeloupe  
FR910       Guadeloupe
FR92     Martinique  
FR920       Martinique
FR93     Guyane  
FR930       Guyane
FR94     Réunion  
FR940       Réunion

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe