European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Estonia elects 6 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Estonia comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The d'Hondt electoral formula is utilized and there is no legal threshold. Party lists are closed and blocked, meaning that voters do not have any opportunity to express interests for any particular candidate.

Latest election

The latest election to the European Parliament took place on 7 June 2009. Winner of the election was the Estonian Centre Party (KESK), winning two seats, just ahead of the independent candidate Indrek Tarand. The Estonian Reform Party (REF), the Union of Pro Patria and Res Publica (IRL) and the Social Democratic Party (SDE) won one seat each.

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 3


Stöver, Philip, and Wüst, Andreas. 2005. Electoral Systems.

Estonica state website.

Estonian Electoral Commission website.