Administrative Division

Estonia is situated on the eastern shores of the Baltic Sea and borders to the Gulf of Finland in the north, to Russia in the east and to Latvia in the south.

Estonia is divided into 15 counties and at the subsequent level about 250 municipalities. Local elections take place at municipality level only. At county level, the county governor is appointed by the central authorities and is accountable to these authorities. For electoral purposes, the country is divided into 12 (11 in 1995 and 1999) electoral districts. 

NUTS structure

Estonia has 5 NUTS 3 units, 1 NUTS 2 unit and 1NUTS 3 units.

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
EE Estonia      
EE0   Eesti    
EE00     Eesti  
EE001       Põhja-Eesti
EE004       Lääne-Eesti
EE006       Kesk-Eesti
EE007       Kirde-Eesti
EE008       Lõuna-Eesti

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe