Head of State:President Toomas Hendrik Ilves

Head of Government:Prime Minister Andrus Ansip

State Assembly (Riigikogu):101 members

Last election:Legislative, 6 March 2011

Next election: Legislative, due 2015

Parliamentary elections

Main political parties, description and election results 2011
Party Description Votes % Seats
ER - Estonian Reform Party Liberal 28,56 33
EKe - Estonian Centre Party Liberal 23,32 26
IRL - Union of Pro Patria and Res Republica Conservative 20,52 23
SDE - Social Democratic Party Social Democratic 17,09 19
ERo - Estonian Greens Ecologist 3,79 -
ERL - Peoples' Union Agrarian 2,12 -

EP elections

Estonia elects 6 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. The latest election to the European Parliament took place on 7 June 2009. Winner of the election was the Estonian Centre Party (KESK), winning two seats, just ahead of the independent candidate Indrek Tarand..[read more..]

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 3

EU related referendums

Of the eight post-communist EU enlargement countries, Estonia was one of the last to hold its accession referendum (on 14 September, 2003). In the final stages of the election campaign, considerable financial resources were spent in favor of accession by both the Estonian government and the local EU delegation office..[read more..]

Referendum on the Accession to the European Union, 2003. NUTS 3