Administrative Division

Denmark is situated in northern Europe and borders to Germany in the south, to Kattegat and the Baltic Sea in the east and south-east, and to Skagerak and the North Sea in the north and west. Denmark comprises the peninsula Jutland (Jylland ) north of Germany and 400 islands of which the largest and most densely populated are Zealand (Skjælland) and Funen (Fyn). The Faeroe Islands and Greenland have autonomous status within the kingdom.

An administrative reform was implemented in Denmark on January 1, 2007. Prior to the reform the country had been divided into 13 counties (amter) and one regional (capital) municipality at regional level, and into about 270 municipalities (kommuner) at the local level. As a result of the reform, five regions replaced the counties and the number of municipalities was reduced to 98. The five regions are Region North Jutland (Region Nordjylland), Region Central Jutland (Region Midtjylland), Region South Denmark (Region Syddanmark), Region Zealand (Region Sjælland) and the Capital Region (Region Hovedstaden).

For electoral purposes, Denmark is divided into 17 multi-member constituencies.

As a result of the administrative reform, the NUTS structure of Denmark was also adjusted by Commission regulation. The changes, which came into effect on January 1 2008, reduced the number of NUTS 3 units from 15 to 11 and increased the number of NUTS 2 units from one to five. The 2007 Danish parliamentary election is published on the CivicActive pages according to the 2008 NUTS structure.

NUTS structure

As of January 2008, Denmark has 11 NUTS 3 units, five NUTS 2 regions and one NUTS 1 unit.

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
DK Denmark      
DK0   Danmark    
DK01     Hovedstaden  
DK011       Byen København
DK012       Københavns omegn
DK013       Nordsjælland
DK014       Bornholm
DK02     Sjælland  
DK021       Vestsjælland
DK022       Vest- og Sydsjælland
DK03     Syddanmark  
DK031       Fyn
DK032       Sydjylland
DK04     Midtjylland  
DK041       Vestjylland
DK042       Østjylland
DK05     Nordjylland  
DK050       Nordjylland

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe