Czech Republic

European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

The Czech Republic elects 22 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. The Czech Republic comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The d'Hondt electoral formula is utilized and the legal threshold is set to 5 percent. Party lists are closed and non-blocked, meaning that voters are enabled to express preferences for a certain candidate on their favoured party list.

Latest election

The last elections to the European Parliament took place in June 2009. The Civic Democratic Party (ODS) won 31.45 percent of the vote and 9 seats in the Parliament, followed by the CSSD (22.38 percent and 7 seats) and KSCM (14.18 percent and 4 seats). The last two seats went to KDU-CSL (7.64 percent of the vote). Voter turnout was only 28.22 percent, well below the EU average (at around 43 percent).

Election results 2009, main parties. NUTS 3


Election results:

Birch, Sarah, Frances Millard, Marina Popescu and Kieran Williams, 2002. Embodying democracy: electoral system design in post-communist Europe. Palgrave Machmillan: New York.

Stöver, Philip, and Andreas Wüst 2005. Electoral Systems.

Election results: