Czech Republic

Administrative Division

The Czech Republic is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It borders on Germany in the west, Austria in the south, Slovakia in the east and Poland in the north. The territory of the Czech Republic consists of three historical regions: Bohemia (located in the west), Moravia (in the east), and Silesia (in the north-east).

For administrative purposes, the Czech Republic has since 2000 been divided into 14 self-governing territorial regions (13 regions and the capital city of Prague). Regional self-government is provided by directly elected assemblies, which influence the regional development in the fields of education, health care, environment, and regional planning. The regions are further subdivided into 73 districts, but district authorities were abolished in 2003. Finally, the country is divided into 205 municipalities with directly elected bodies.

NUTS structure

The Czech Republic has 14 NUTS 3 units, 8 NUTS 2 units and 1 NUTS 1 unit. The self-governing territorial regions correspond to level 3 of the NUTS regions. 

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
CZ Czech Republic      
CZ0   Ceska Republika    
CZ01     Praha  
CZ010       Hlavni mesto Praha
CZ02     Stredni Cechy    
CZ020       Stredocesky kraj
CZ03     Jihozapad    
CZ031       Jihocesky kraj
CZ032       Plzensky kraj
CZ04     Severozapad    
CZ041       Karlovarsky kraj
CZ042       Ustecky kraj
CZ05     Severovychod    
CZ051       Liberecky kraj
CZ052       Kralovehradecky kraj
CZ053       Pardubicky kraj
CZ06     Jihovychod    
CZ061       Vysocina
CZ062       Jihomoravsky kraj
CZ07     Stredni Morava  
CZ071       Olomoucky kraj
CZ072       Zlinsky kraj
CZ08     Moravskoslezsko      
CZ080       Moravskoslezsky kraj

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe