Cyprus - Political parties

Party descriptions and CMP left-right scores
Party Type 96 01 Average
DISY Nationalist -2.6 -4.6 -3.6
AKEL Social Democratic 15.7 -1.8 6.9
DIKO Liberal 6.6 -4.6 1
EDEK Social Democratic -9.9 -13.4 -11.6
EURO.KO Centre-right
KOP Ecologist

The table shows the periodical scores on left-right position as given in the Comparative Manifesto Project (Volkens, Andrea,, 2010). The scores range from -100 (left) to +100 (right).

Type: Tentative grouping of political parties and alliances based on information provided in the Comparative Manifesto Project and from party descriptions in Europa World Yearbook, Encyclopædia Britannica and in election reports from the European Journal of Political Research and/or Electoral Studies.

DISY - Democratic Rally - (Dimokratikos Sinagermos)

Founded by Glafkos Klerides in 1976. Absorbed Democratic National Party (DEK) in 1977, New Democratic Front (NEDIPA) in 1988 and Liberal Party in 1998. Advocates the reunification of Cyprus on the basis of a bi-zonal federation; also advocates market economy with restricted state intervention and increased state social role.

AKEL - Progressive Party of Working People of Cyprus - (Anorthotikon Komma Ergazemenou Laou)

Founded in 1941 as a successor of the Communist Party established in the mid-1920s. While banned for a few years, it re-appeared as Cyprus achieved independence in 1960. AKEL has occupied a prominent place in the political landscape and is currently the largest party in the parliament. While still a declared communist party, its economic policy is more akin to western social-democratic parties, and the party has since mid-1990s supported Cypriot EU membership. AKEL has traditionally adopted the most accommodative approach towards the Cypriot issue and through the trade union maintained contact with the Turkish north.

DIKO - Democratic Party - (Dimokratikon Komma)

Centrist party founded in 1976. Absorbed Enosi Kentrou (Centre Union, formed 1981) in 1989. Supports settlement of the Cyprus problem based on UN resolutions.

EDEK - Movement of Social Democrats - (Kinima Sosialdimokraton)

Founded in 2000 as a successor to Socialistico Komma Kyprou (EDEK—Socialist Party of Cyprus, formed 1969). Supports independent, non-aligned, unitary, demilitarized Cyprus. The party was renamed KISOS after the merger with Movement for the Regrouping of the Centre in 1999, but re-took its older name prior to the 2006 election.

EURO.KO - European Party - (Evropaiko Komma)

Founded in 2005, largely on the basis of the New Horizons party. The party won three seats in the legislature in the parliamentary election in 2006.

KOP - Ecological and Environmental Movement - (Kinima Oikologoi Perivallontistoi)

Founded 1996. The party advocates the reunification of Cyprus and promotes the principles of sustainable development. Won a seat in the parliament in the elections in 2001 and 2006.


Political Organizations (Cyprus). 2009. In Europa World online. London, Routledge. University of Bergen. Retrieved October 2009 from

Electoral Studies (Elsevier), election reports on Cyprus.

European Journal of Political Research (European Consortium for Political Research), reports on Cyprus.

Budge, I.; Klingemann, H.-D.; Volkens, A.; Bara, J.; Tanenbaum, E., with Fording, R.C.; Hearl, D.J.; Kim, H.M.; McDonald, M. and Mendez, S. (2001). Mapping Policy Preferences. Estimates for Parties, Electors, and Governments 1945-1998. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Klingemann, H.D.; Volkens, A.; Bara, J.; Budge, I.; McDonald, M. (2006). Mapping Policy Preferences II. Estimates for Parties, Electors, and Governments in Eastern Europe, the European Union and the OECD, 1990-2003. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Volkens, Andrea; Lacewell, Onawa; Regel, Sven; Schultze, Henrike; Werner, Annika (2010): The Manifesto Data Collection. Manifesto Project (MRG/CMP/MARPOR), Berlin: Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB):