European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Cyprus elects 6 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Cyprus comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The Hare electoral formula is utilized and the legal threshold is set to 1.8 percent. Party lists are closed and non-blocked, thus enabling voters to express preferences among the candidates belonging to the party list of their choice.

Latest election

The last elections to the European Parliament took place on 6 June 2009. DISY came first with 35.65 percent of the vote, just ahead of AKEL who got 34.90 percent, both winning two seats in the European Parliament. DIKO came third with 12.28 percent, while EDEK got 9.85 percent, both winning one seat each. The turnout rate of 59.40 is the lowest recorded for any election in Cyprus. Voting is compulsory for national elections but not for European ones.

Election results 2009, main parties


Election results:

Election results: European Parliament.

Stöver, Philip, and Andreas Wüst. 2005. Electoral Systems.