Administrative Division

Cyprus is situated in the eastern basin of the Mediterranean Sea, south of the Anatolian peninsula (Turkey). Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea after Sicilia and Sardinia.

For administrative purposes, Cyprus is divided into six districts which are subsequently divided into 33 municipalities and 576 communities. The administrative offices of the districts are laid under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of the Interior.Municipality and community councils are directly elected bodies.

NUTS structure

Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
CY Cyprus      
CY0   Kypros/Kibris    
CY00     Kypros/Kibris  
CY000       Kypros/Kibris

Eurostat: Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics - NUTS Statistical Regions of Europe