Head of State: President Nikos Anastasiades

Head of Government: President Nikos Anastasiades

House of Representatives (Vouli Antiprosopon): 56 members

Last election: Presidential, 17 and 24 February 2013

Next election: Legislative, due 2016

Parliamentary elections

Main political parties, descriptions and election results 2011
Party Description Votes % Seats
DISY - Democratic Rally Nationalist 34,28 20
AKEL - Progressive Party of Working People of Cyprus Social Democratic 32,67 19
DIKO - Democratic Party Liberal 15,76 9
EDEK - Movement of Social Democrats Social Democratic 8,93 5
EURO.KO - European Party - 3,88 2
KOP - Ecological and Environmental Movement Ecologist 2,21 1

Presidential elections

According to the 1960 constitution of the Republic of Cyprus, the President is elected for a 5-year fixed term by members of the Greek Cypriot community. A two-round presidential election was held in Cyprus on 17 and 24 February 2008. The election was the first to take place after the country's accession to the European Union and the abortive UN-planned referendum on reunification in 2004.. [read more..]

Results, presidential election 2013

EP elections

Cyprus elects 6 members to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. Cyprus comprises one, national electoral district for these elections. The last elections to the European Parliament took place on 6 June 2009..[read more]

Results, European Parliament election 2009, main parties