Administrative Division

Electoral districts

The primary law regarding elections to the Croatian Parliament is the 1999 Law on the Election of Representatives to the Croatian Parliament (LERCP, amended in 2007). Under the LERCP, new members of Parliament are elected in 10 geographical constituencies, with each constituency electing 14 representatives. Eight mandates are reserved for representatives of Croatia’s 22 constitutionally recognized minorities (district XII). An additional number of mandates are awarded through elections in a special constituency comprised of Croatian citizens who permanently reside abroad (diaspora voters - district XI). Hence, the electoral districts in parliamentary elections do not correspond to the NUTS-classification. However, in presidential elections the electoral districts are the county (županija) subdivision, equivalent to the NUTS 3 level.

District ID District name
I Zagreb
II Bjelovar
III Varaždin
IV Osijek
V Slavonski Brod
VI Sisak
VII Karlovac
VIII Pazin
IX Zadar
X Split
XI Croatians abroad
XII Minority groups

NUTS structure

Croatia has 21 NUTS 3 units, three NUTS 2 units and one NUTS 1 unit (correspond to country level). The 21 NUTS 3 units corresponds to the county (županija) subdivision.


Code Country NUTS 1 NUTS 2 NUTS 3
HR01     Sjeverozapadna Hrvatska  
HR011       Grad Zagreb
HR012       Zagrebacka županija
HR013       Krapinsko-zagorska županija
HR014       Varaždinska županija
HR015       Koprivnicko-križevacka županija
HR016       Medimurska županija
HR02     Središnja i Istocna (Panonska) Hrvatska  
HR021       Bjelovarsko-bilogorska županija
HR022       Viroviticko-podravska županija
HR023       Požeško-slavonska županija
HR024       Brodsko-posavska županija
HR025       Osjecko-baranjska županija
HR026       Vukovarsko-srijemska županija
HR027       Karlovacka županija
HR028       Sisacko-moslavacka županija
HR03     Jadranska Hrvatska  
HR031       Primorsko-goranska županija
HR032       Licko-senjska županija
HR033       Zadarska županija
HR034       Šibensko-kninska županija
HR035       Splitsko-dalmatinska županija
HR036       Istarska županija
HR037       Dubrovacko-neretvanska županija

Eurostat, RAMON: Statistical Regions for Candidate countries and EFTA countries, by country

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights: Final Report, parliamentary elections 2007