European Parliament Elections

Electoral system

Belgium elects 24 representatives to the European Parliament. The electoral system is based on proportional representation. For administrative purposes Belgium comprises three electoral districts for these elections. The d'Hondt formula is used and there is no legal threshold of representation. The party lists are closed but non-blocked. Hence, voters are provided with the opportunity of overruling the party ranking of candidates. In 1994, Belgium introduced a guaranteed seat for the German minority.

Latest election

The last elections to the European Parliament took place on 7 June 2009. Belgium was one of the few countries where turnout was not an issue: the 90.5 percent figure reflect the compulsory voting law rather than a surge in interest in the election. The ruling Christian Democrats (CD&V) came out on top, winning 14.43 percent and three seats, ahead of the Liberal Democrats (OpenVLD) at 12.75 percent, also winnig three seats. The far-right Vlaams Belang (VB) or Flemish Interest Party was the obvious loser, falling from over 14 percent in 2004 to 9.85 percent, about the same level as the francophone Socialist Party (PS). PS won three seats, while VB won two seats.  Other parties winning seats were MR (2), ECOLO (2) and sp.a. (2), in addition to N-VA, CDH, Groen!, LDD and CSP, all winning one seat each.

Election results, main parties. Flanders. NUTS 2

Election results, main parties. Wallonia. NUTS 2

NOTE: The tables are compressed versions of the original, full table. To access the full dataset, click here.


Election results:

Federal government election site.

European Parliament election site.

The Electoral Reform Society, European Democracies website

Government (Belgium), in Europa World online. London, Routledge. University of Bergen. Retrieved 28 October 2009 from