Dette datatilbudet vil være utilgjengelig fra og med 25.5.2022 grunnet omlegging av våre datasystemer. Dataene vil være tilgjengelig igjen i løpet av høsten 2022.

Due to extensive restructuring of our data dissemination systems, the European Election Database will be temporarily closed down from 25 May 2022. The service will be available again before the end of 2022.


Head of State:Federal President Dr Heinz Fischer

Head of Government:Federal Chancellor Werner Faymann

National Council (Nationalrat):183 members

Last election:Presidential, 25 April 2010.

Next election:Parliamentary, due in September 2013

Parliamentary elections

Main political parties, descriptions and election results 2008
Party Description Votes % Seats
SPÖ - The Social Democratic Party Social Democratic 29,26 57
ÖVP - The Austrian People’s Party Christian democratic 25,98 51
FPÖ - The Freedom Party of Austria Liberal 17,54 34
BZÖ - Alliance for the Future of Austria Liberal (right-wing, populist) 10,70 21
Grüne - Austrian Green Party Ecologist 10,43 20

Presidential Elections

Results, presidential election 2010. NUTS 2.

EP elections

Austria has 18 seats in the European Parliament. The electoral system for EP elections are, as National Council elections, rooted in proportional representation. The last elections to the European Parliament took place on 7 June 2009. The ruling Social Democrats (SPÖ) suffered a serious setback, falling to 23.74 percent..[read more..]

Results, European Parliament election 2009. NUTS 2.

EU related referendums

On 12 June 1994 a referendum was held on Austrian membership in the European Union. That is, the people were asked whether the Nationalrat would be allowed to amend the Austrian constitution in order to fit with the requirements of EU membership..[read more]

Referendum on the Accession to the European Union, YES/NO votes. NUTS 2